UAE, Oman and Qatar on the England’s travel red list

UAE, Oman and Qatar on the England’s travel red list

Only 12 countries made it onto England’s travel green list following the 7 May announcement from the UK

The GCC’s UAE, Qatar and Oman were placed on the red list, crushing travel plans for thousands in the Visiting Friends and Family (VFR) market, where pent-up demand is teeming.

The 12 countries on the green list are:

  1. Australia
  2. Brunei
  3. Falkland Islands
  4. Faroe Islands
  5. Gibraltar
  6. Iceland
  7. Israel
  8. New Zealand
  9. Portugal
  10. Singapore
  11. South Georgia and the Sandwich Islands
  12. St Helena, Tristan de Cunha and Ascension Island

The list will be reviewed in three weeks.

Countries have been placed on a green, amber or red list depending on their current Covid-19 numbers, their vaccination-per-population percentage and, in the case of the UAE, their airport transit numbers.

Green list arrivals to England need only take one PCR test within two days of landing back in the UK, while amber list arrivals must spend 10 days quarantining at home and take two PCR tests two and eight days after entering the UK. Individuals must pay for their own PCR tests.

If travelling from a red list country like the UAE, Oman and Qatar, individuals must:

  • Present a negative PCR test, taken before entering the UK
  • Pre-book a mandatory 10-day quarantine at hotel, costing £1,750
  • Pay for and take two PCR tests, taken on day two and day eight of your quarantine

UK transport secretary Grant Shapps said: “Red countries are those which should not be visited except in the most extreme of circumstances, where repeated testing and isolation in designated Government hotels on return is compulsory.”

This means those wishing to travel to England from red list countries will now be faced with the alternative to go via green list countries open to their destination of origin. Two-centre stays are being curated by local travel agents, whose role in navigating holiday planning is now more critical than ever.

The red list in full:

  1. Angola
  2. Argentina
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Bolivia
  5. Botswana
  6. Brazil
  7. Burundi
  8. Cape Verde
  9. Chile
  10. Colombia
  11. Democratic Republic of Congo
  12. Ecuador
  13. Eswatini
  14. Ethiopia
  15. French Guiana
  16. Guyana
  17. India
  18. Kenya
  19. Lesotho
  20. Malawi
  21. Maldives
  22. Mozambique
  23. Namibia
  24. Nepal
  25. Oman
  26. Pakistan
  27. Panama
  28. Paraguay
  29. Peru
  30. Philippines
  31. Qatar
  32. Rwanda
  33. Seychelles
  34. Somalia
  35. South Africa
  36. Suriname
  37. Tanzania
  38. Turkey
  39. Uruguay
  40. United Arab Emirates
  41. Venezuela
  42. Zambia
  43. Zimbabwe



Share article

View Comments