Japan launches e-visa for 11 new countries, including UAE and Saudi Arabia

Japan launches e-visa for 11 new countries, including UAE and Saudi Arabia

New tourist visa offers UAE and Saudi residents 90-day access to Japan 

Japan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs has announced a new electronic visa system that will make it easier for tourists travelling to Japan.

Eleven new countries have been added to the e-visa list, including the UAE and Saudi Arabia, giving applicants the chance to stay for up to 90 days. 

Last September, Japan announced that UAE citizens would be exempt from entry visas for stays up to 30 days, which took effect on 1 November 2022, meaning Emirati citizens who do not require a visa to travel to Japan are unaffected by the new e-visa programme. 

However, it means that UAE residents with nationalities meeting the Japan visa requirement can avail the new system. 

Wego partners with Japan to boost inbound winter tourism from Saudi
Emirates to resume Dubai to Tokyo-Haneda flights from April
8 Global travel trends that will shape the market in 2023

The latest update includes the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Brazil, UK, USA, Cambodia, Canada, Mongolia, Taiwan, Singapore and South Africa. Applicants must have a clean criminal record and must not be dual nationals with Japanese citizenship.

Applications must be made on the Japan Visa e-portal no less than seven days before their travel date and no more than three months in advance. Required documents vary by nationality and country of residence but generally include a valid passport and a recent photo taken within six months of the submission date.

However, while travellers from the UK and Singapore can pay online, all other applications must be paid for at the consulate or embassy before the visa is processed within five working days.

Want to visit Japan?

Travel Counsellor Gillian McLornan is a Japan specialist. Email to book your next adventure

Share article

View Comments